In praise of blur

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We typically strive for a sharp image when taking a photograph. I want to speak in favor of blurred images. I offer the following praise of blur.

The crime scene conveys to me a sense of terror and shock, in large part because of the blurring. It speaks visually of being startled and disoriented.

The bearded man is Art Honeyman. He moved around in a cart because of his advanced cerebral palsy. I photographed him speaking at a rally protesting the Vietnam War. The image of the microphone is sharp, but his constant twitching produced a blurred image of his face. He died relatively soon after I took this photograph.

The blurred Buddha expresses my struggle to work the principles of meditation and courage. It all remains a blur to me in real life.

The picture of Richard Avedon is a self-portrait. I enjoy the blur as he moves his arms and hands. He knows better, and does it anyway.

People who perform by moving always invite a blurred treatment of their image. Thanks to  yoga teachers, musicians, fire works displays, and amusement park rides.

About Daniel

I emphasize natural light portraits taken on location.
This entry was posted in Beginner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

